A Day in the Life

Homeschooling and Medieval Living

A Beacon

on January 3, 2013

– From The Daily Compass

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house.” Matthew 5:14

How will you let your light shine today so that you can give light to those around you?

 

I see my light as one of compassion and service. How will I shine this today?

I will work so that my family will have food and shelter.

I will ask my mom if there is anything she needs from me before I leave.

I will hug my children and let them know they are loved.

I will be the best mom, wife, and employee I can be.

 

This is another difficult one for me. I love the Daily Compass because it really makes me think. It is helping me grow as a person. I have always been so scared of what people think of me. I have had this irrational fear that I will be so disliked and left alone. I think it goes back to being the new kid at school. There were so many times when I ate my lunch with a teacher or in the office. I did this because I was being teased and ridiculed. They treated it by just removing me from the situation. So, I tried to keep my light hidden so that I would not get noticed. Then, when I finally reached high school, I began to do things outside of school. While at school, I was very professional and meek. I dressed in business attire and was very quiet. Outside of school I wore black and did as I wanted. I was a drama queen through and through. I really let my light shine. When I got to college, I began to merge the two and it was stunning. After college, I found a local UU church where I could finally be myself and believe how I wanted. I saw that my light was brighter when I entered the Sanctuary. It was bliss. Then my family moved. Now, I am nowhere near a UU church. My light has dimmed somewhat, but I am trying to keep it lit. It is very difficult. This week, I found an online UU community and I was overjoyed. I will attend their online service this Sunday and see how it goes. I can’t wait. I am so excited. I will light my chalice and let it illuminate my life.

 

Leave a Reply

diaryofablondie

Simply writing about things that make my world go round

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

PowerHouse Homeschooling

A Resource Site for Texas Homeschoolers

The Person Next to You

... we're not alone in the journey of life!

365 Days of (Almost) Unschooling

Or: I read your book, Peter Gray

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

I Would Walk 1000 Miles

Just another WordPress.com weblog

BluChickenNinja

I have no idea what I'm doing

FanFiction.Net: TheDoctor'sDaughters

Homeschooling and Medieval Living

Mosher'sUnimaginativelyEntitledBlog

--**-- The Blog Without A Bloody Annoying Tagline --**--

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Creativity is Defiance

"When you ask creative people how they did something, they feel a little guilty, because they didn't really do it. They just saw something." - Steve Jobs

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

// Internet Duct Tape

blogging / programming / technology / lifehacks

