A Day in the Life

Homeschooling and Medieval Living

Floating on Air

on June 10, 2014

From the Daily Compass:

Most of us can only imagine what it would be like to soar like a hawk, carried by nothing more than air. It turns out that you can only get to that peaceful place of floating by literally jumping off a cliff.

What kind of cliffs have you chosen to jump off, trusting that the experience will be worth it?

Five years ago, I withdrew my children from public school. I had chosen to homeschool them. It was a very scary decision. I thought “What if I fail?” Then, I realized that I could then choose another option. There are charter schools, private schools, co-ops, etc. So, I took the leap. I had researched homeschooling (as well as all other options) for more than two years. My children had been doing well until my daughter reached the fifth grade.

My daughter moved from the elementary school to the intermediate school. She changed classes and was introduced to the world of cliques. She hated it. The school was overcrowded and she often got lost in the crowd. She had ADHD and Written Output Disorder. The elementary school was great. It had ARD meetings, parent-teacher conferences, and I would help out in the classroom on many occasions. It offered me many opportunities to stay in touch with my children’s education. The intermediate school offered no such opportunity. There were no meetings of any kind. It was almost impossible to schedule meetings with all of her teachers. I tried to help out at the school and was told that they didn’t need parent help. When I approached the counselors, I was told that I just needed to be strong and force my child to be independent. I needed to just walk away when my daughter cried and begged me not to leave her. I grew more and more frustrated.

My son was doing fairly well at the elementary. He was in second grade. It was the other students that frightened me. I was a substitute teacher at the time.The last straw was when a second grader threw a desk at me. I had asked him to move his desk. He moved it alright. He served three days in In-School Suspension (ISS). My son also has ADHD. He was constantly asked to move his desk into the hall or into a corner. I was not overjoyed at this.

Due to all of the above, I figured my kids could get a better education at home. And I was right. My daughter (now 16) and my son (now 13) are both learning from college text books. We passed high school long ago. Both are doing very well. My daughter is getting reading for all of her testing next year (SAT and COMPAS). She wants to be a game designer. She loves art and drawing anime figures. Currently, she is designing mods for Minecraft and other games. My son is doing everything he can to prepare for his admission into A&M. He has wanted to be an entomologist since he was four. He still loves insects, spiders, and all things creepy crawly. I have bought him books and taken him on numerous field trips. Throughout the year, we trudge through the backyard in search of insects. We look at them and figure out their life cycle. We then search online and in his library for more information. They still learn college algebra, US History, reading (about 2-5 hours a day) and writing. Somehow, we find time for it all.

I am so glad that I jumped off that cliff five years ago. It has brought me peace and gratitude. I am also very happy that the state of Texas has laws that favor homeschooling. Are you more interested in homeschooling? Want to know how you can raise creative thinkers? Check out my course Raising Creative Thinkers on Udemy for 60% off!

One response to “Floating on Air

  1. […] homeschooling path. I took her out of school during the fifth grade. (I have posted in a previous post about how that went.) So this has given me much to think […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

diaryofablondie

Simply writing about things that make my world go round

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

PowerHouse Homeschooling

A Resource Site for Texas Homeschoolers

The Person Next to You

... we're not alone in the journey of life!

365 Days of (Almost) Unschooling

Or: I read your book, Peter Gray

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

I Would Walk 1000 Miles

Just another WordPress.com weblog

bluchickenninja.com

graphic designer, bibliophile, spoonie

FanFiction.Net: TheDoctor'sDaughters

Homeschooling and Medieval Living

Mosher'sUnimaginativelyEntitledBlog

--**-- The Blog Without A Bloody Annoying Tagline --**--

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Creativity is Defiance

"When you ask creative people how they did something, they feel a little guilty, because they didn't really do it. They just saw something." - Steve Jobs

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

// Internet Duct Tape

blogging / programming / technology / lifehacks

