A Day in the Life

Homeschooling and Medieval Living

About J

on July 7, 2014

At the age of 13, I hunched in a desk at the back of the seventh grade social studies classroom. I had been enrolled in this school for a little over a month. This was the seventh new school in as many years. I stared down at my history book and tried to make myself invisible. You would think I would be used to being the new kid. I had been a “navy brat” most of my childhood. But, I never got used to it. I glanced at the crowd of hair bows and backs, determined not make a friend this time. Every time I did, we moved. So what was the point. It was better to just sit there – invisible.

Then, she walked in. She was almost a head taller than me. The florescent lights shimmered off the golden flecks in her bobbed hair. She stood withering in front of the class, looking down at her delicate clasped hands. Another new kid! Yes! The teacher introduced J to the class. J took her new book and worked her way to the seat next to me.

“Hi!” I said.

“H-hello.”

“My name is Sonja and I am new here too! If you like, I can show you around and sit with you at lunch.”

“OK. Thanks.”

Later on, we sat with each other at lunch. It turns out that she had been attending a near-by private school. So, she actually knew a few of the kids. We talked about the differences between private school and public school. I told her about many of the schools I had attended, along with the difference between base housing and civilian housing. We had a great time that day. I had spent so much time trying to make J feel welcome that I totally forgot about the fact that I didn’t want another friend.

Fast forward thirty years….

I stood in my kitchen, wondering what to make for dinner. Dinner was actually the last thing on my mind, to be honest. I was thinking about how bad I felt (still recovering from the flu), mom’s doctor appointments, chores I needed to complete, bills that needed paying, and about a hundred other depressing things. I didn’t know how I was going to get everything done, feeling as I did. Then I hear a special ringtone “Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh. It’s my best friend calling!” I answer with a “Hello friend!” It’s J! “Hey chica!” she says. And, just like that, my worrying thoughts melt away.

We spend the next hour talking about everything going on in our lives. Even though there are hundreds of miles between us, we still talk as often as we can and we keep in touch. She has always been there for me. She was there for my divorce, my second wedding, the birth of my first child. Through everything, she held my hand and told me I was awesome. She loves me unconditionally. Her shoulder gives me strength, her voice gives me encouragement.

There are many reasons why I chose to write about J today. You see, it is very hard for me to make friends. I have LOTS of acquaintances, but only one real BFF. Also, I have no siblings. She is the sister I never had. No one really knows me like she does. So, she means everything to me. I treasure everything about her.

The other reason I write about her is that today is her birthday. HAPPY BIRTHDAY SISSY! I love you with all my heart!

This blog is dedicated to you….

 

Leave a Reply

diaryofablondie

Simply writing about things that make my world go round

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

PowerHouse Homeschooling

A Resource Site for Texas Homeschoolers

The Person Next to You

... we're not alone in the journey of life!

365 Days of (Almost) Unschooling

Or: I read your book, Peter Gray

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

I Would Walk 1000 Miles

Just another WordPress.com weblog

BluChickenNinja

I have no idea what I'm doing

FanFiction.Net: TheDoctor'sDaughters

Homeschooling and Medieval Living

Mosher'sUnimaginativelyEntitledBlog

--**-- The Blog Without A Bloody Annoying Tagline --**--

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Creativity is Defiance

"When you ask creative people how they did something, they feel a little guilty, because they didn't really do it. They just saw something." - Steve Jobs

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

// Internet Duct Tape

blogging / programming / technology / lifehacks

