A Day in the Life

Homeschooling and Medieval Living

School Choice Week

on December 11, 2014
schoolchoiceweek.com

National School Choice Week is January 25-31, 2015.

“National School Choice Week (NSCW) provides an unprecedented opportunity, every January, to shine a spotlight on the need for effective education options for all children. Independently planned by a diverse coalition of individuals, schools and organizations, NSCW features thousands of special events across the country. The Week is a nonpartisan and nonpolitical public awareness effort.”

I recently came across School Choice Week while I was researching for my homeschooling book. I took a good look at the website and I spoke with a customer service representative. The site is basically a place for organizers and schools to sign up. I looked for events happening in my area through their nifty search engine. I found four events in my state. The one in Dallas is an open house for a Catholic school. All the others were over 200 miles from me. Although there is a great event happening on the steps of the Capitol Building in Austin, it’s a four hour trip.

As soon as you open their site, a chat window opens up and a CSR asks if they can help you. It was a little annoying at first. I told her that I was a homeschooler and I was interested in helping out the cause somehow. She said I should be an organizer and directed me to the homeschool section of the site. When I arrived at the site, I noticed the form for organizers to fill out. So, I filled it out. If approved, I will receive a complimentary box full of goodies such as scarves, posters, fliers and more. I am not sure what I will do with all the goodies if I get them. Do I just sit at a table downtown during the School Choice Week and talk up homeschooling? That would be odd. Most people would ignore me or think I was three fries short of a happy meal.

Does anyone have any ideas about what I could do with all this information? How can I get the word out that there is a need for effective education options for children. I guess I could set up on the steps of the Fort Worth court house. I would love to do this locally but my town is so small. We have a tabernacle in the middle of town. I guess I could set up there right next to the farmers’ market. “Hey! Have a flier with that apple. Support education and farmers at the same time!” Maybe. I would love to get your feedback. Just leave your thoughts in the comments below. Thanks! BTW, this will take place January 25-31, 2015.

5 responses to “School Choice Week

  1. The link to the homeschool section didn’t work for me. 😦

    I think this program would be cool if you could get a homeschool group involved and set up somewhere to get information out. Looks really neat!

    Like

  2. Hi Sonja – I came across your blog from a google alert for “School Choice Week” this afternoon, and I enjoyed reading it. I especially liked your post with suggestions for transitioning homeschooling students to college — very cool.

    Thanks for checking out the NSCW website and for signing up to get a kit with materials. One of the things you might want to do with the materials is get together with other homeschooling families, take photos with the scarves provided, and post them right here on your blog! That would help get the word out.

    I also liked your idea of giving out the information in your town.

    You might also consider turning some of your blog posts (such as the college one) into a mini-info session for other homeschooling parents, maybe parents with kids in the younger grades?

    Just a few thoughts. Anyway, I just wanted to comment on your blog because I appreciated the fact that you helped spread the word about NSCW and the availability of the free materials for homeschooling groups and other organizations (www.schoolchoiceweek.com/homeschools). Other organizations, like chambers of commerce, etc, can get cool gear at http://www.schoolchoiceweek.com/mymeeting.

    Let our team know if you have any questions and, of course, please do post some photos with the scarves when you get the kit, using the hashtag #SCW.

    Thanks again and have a nice evening.

    Best,
    Andrew

    Andrew Campanella
    President
    National School Choice Week

    Like

  3. Gary Gruber says:

    Sonja,
    You might find a few others in your community who share the importance of choosing how and where you choose to “school” your children and together brainstorm some ideas about getting the word out in your community. Actually I think a public display is a good idea and people could take turns being there and passing out information that you can get from a variety of sources including your own. It’s about organizing, planning and taking the initiative to get something done that has value, like writing your book.
    Cheers,
    Gary

    Like

Leave a Reply

diaryofablondie

Simply writing about things that make my world go round

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

PowerHouse Homeschooling

A Resource Site for Texas Homeschoolers

The Person Next to You

... we're not alone in the journey of life!

365 Days of (Almost) Unschooling

Or: I read your book, Peter Gray

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

I Would Walk 1000 Miles

Just another WordPress.com weblog

BluChickenNinja

I have no idea what I'm doing

FanFiction.Net: TheDoctor'sDaughters

Homeschooling and Medieval Living

Mosher'sUnimaginativelyEntitledBlog

--**-- The Blog Without A Bloody Annoying Tagline --**--

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Creativity is Defiance

"When you ask creative people how they did something, they feel a little guilty, because they didn't really do it. They just saw something." - Steve Jobs

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

// Internet Duct Tape

blogging / programming / technology / lifehacks

